People

The Center for Biological Data Science is a focal point for bioinformatics research and instruction at VCU. Faculty, staff, and graduate students in the Center conduct nationally and internationally recognized research in bioinformatics, data science, and systems biology.

Academic Faculty

Academic faculty in the center are experts in a broad range of disciplines.

Michael Rosenberg

Director and Associate Professor
(804) 827-0026
msrosenberg@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3102

Visit the website of Michael Rosenberg

Allison Johnson

Assistant Director and Assistant Professor
(804) 828-6782
aajohnson@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3115

Jeff Elhai

Associate Professor
(804) 828-0794
elhaij@vcu.edu
Eugene P. and Lois E. Trani Center for Life Sciences, Room 335

Visit the website for Jeff Elhai

Paul Fawcett

Assistant Professor
Director, Research Resources, Office of Research
Sanger Hall, Room 5031
(804) 827-0975
Pfawcett@vcu.edu

Luiz Shozo Ozaki

Associate Professor
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-7296
lsozaki@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3139

Peter Uetz

Associate Professor
(804) 827-4573
uetz@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3136

Visit the website of Peter Uetz

Ping Xu

Professor
Professor, Philips Institute of Oral and Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Affiliate Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 827-6264
pxu@vcu.edu
Wood Memorial Building, Room 424

Visit the website for Ping Xu

Emeritus Faculty

Our emeritus professors are distinguished and accomplished retired faculty who served the Center and University for many years and continue to provide support to the latest generation of students, faculty, and staff.

Danail Bonchev

Emeritus Professor
(804) 827-7375
dgbonchev@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3132

Lemont B. Kier

Emeritus Professor
(804) 828-7822
lbkier@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3135

Advising Staff

A critical component of our students success in Bioinformatics is their ability to successfully navigate through their degree programs and be aware of the multitude of opportunities for them at each stage.

Herschell Emery

Academic Advisor
(804) 828-0559
hsemery@vcu.edu
Grace E. Harris Hall, Room 3116b